header image


The Governance of the Bloomingdale Family Program reflects the successful partnership between parents and professionals which characterizes the program's long history.

The Bloomingdale Family Program is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. The Governing Board is responsible for setting overall goals and direction for the program and overseeing its financial health. Board members are drawn from the program and its community and from New York City’s financial and other institutions.

Parents have a strong voice in the program. They serve on Policy Committees that represent both individual classrooms and the entire program. The role parents assume in governance, which distinguishes the Head Start program today, was pioneered by Bloomingdale when it began in 1960, and was adopted by the Federal Head Start program from the Bloomingdale model.

The Board and the Parent Policy Committee work together in support of the program.

Board Members

Sandra Roche, Board Chair


Principal (Retired) Little Red School House LREI

A Bloomingdale founding parent

Nancy Watt Rosenfeld, Vice Chair

Editor/graphic designer

Former teacher

Michael McGee, Treasurer



Shirley Ariker, Secretary

Empire State College SUNY (Professor Emeritus)

Elizabeth Cooper


Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Liz Fernandez

Faculty, Ethical Culture Fieldston School

Bloomingdale Alumnus

Karen Goldfeder

VP, Business Development


Georgia Levenson Keohane

Senior Fellow, Director

New America

Barbara Malpica

Housing Specialist

Former Bloomingdale parent

Caleb Pitters

Vice President


Dennis McCarthy

Former Partner

Pricewaterhouse Coopers

Stephen B. Wax

Director, Head of Credit Tax Compliance and Reporting

Angelo, Gordon & Co